April 6, 2006

My quest

Posted in Uncategorized at 2:47 pm by mrsmauck

A good teacher is like a candle – it consumes itself to light the way for others. (Author unknown)

That’s what I’m going to do, I know it: be consumed with teaching. I’m scared that I’ll be so consumed I’ll leave my writing dreams behind, instead sacrificing myself at the altar of education.

I never wanted to be a teacher. I’ve wanted to be a writer ever since I experienced the lucid feeling of writing a story about characters who are surprising you and endearing you as you write. But last year, I was teaching a Bible study for women, and realized that I could see knowledge and communicate with a passion and clarity that was enlightening for the precious girls, and intoxicating for me. I love finding truth and beauty in literature, and the idea of helping others see how that hidden treasure can enrich their lives is alluring and exciting. I’m not sure what all God has in store for me professionally on this earth, but I know He’s given me a love of and talent for teaching, so I’m going to pursue that with all my heart, mind, body, and soul. As far as writing, I hope that my students can teach me what it it’s like to be an adolescent, so that I can write young adult fiction. That’s what Anna Meyers did. I heard her speak at a writers conference last year, and I don’t think it was any accident that I did. I’m not going to suppose any of God’s plans until they’ve unfolded, but I know God’s also give me a passion and talent for writing, and I won’t bury that talent.

Leave a Reply

