April 26, 2006

Up all night thinking about teaching

Posted in Uncategorized at 4:59 pm by mrsmauck

Last night, I went to bed at 9 p.m. and slept through my alarm, waking up at 7:30 and having to come to work with my damp hair in a ponytail and no breakfast. Why, you ask? Because the previous night, I had an ephiphany at 3:30 a.m. and could not get back to sleep until around 6 a.m. The ephiphany: a superintendent who goes to our church had mentioned he would have a computer teacher opening in the fall. At the time, I was only inquiring for my cousin, a high school science teacher looking to move closer to home. I hadn’t thought of it since, but for some reason when my puppy woke me up whining to outside, I remembered it. Suddenly, my mind was flooded with ideas and possibilities. For being a computer teacher, you ask? I thought you wanted to teach English. Well I do, but Alternative Certification gave me the okay to seek certification in Journalism Education because of my work experience. Once I get certified in it, I can take my English certification test, which I should be ready to do after I finish my Master’s program in English Ed next year. So my current job is boring me to tears, but it pays well and my husband is considering quitting his job to go into business for himself. This means we will be relying on my steady income. So I can’t quit to sub or quit for some GA job at the college while I pursue my Master’s. I have to have a full-time job. Hubby and I had just talked about this that day, and I was still kind of reeling from the realization that for the first time in my life, I actually had to work. I’ve always worked, but I’ve always had support from someone–my parents in college, my husband after I graduated. In the next few months, my income is crucial to our financial well-being. So despite my discontent with my PR job, I have to be here. Welcome to reality, right?

So at 3:30 in the a.m. two nights ago, I realized there was a possibility of me getting into education this fall! I could teach computers and Journalism! Although I strongly believe in the integration of technology into core classes, my mind was working overtime to think of ways to make an isolated computer class enrich existing curriculum and teach computer skills. Blogs on current events, webquests that support curriculum in other classes, website design for teacher websites…it all seemed so exciting compared to what I’m doing now, and so perfect for preparing me to be a teacher of a core class! Then I would have my last hour Journalism in a class stocked with computers. Oh, how I would cherish that hour of teaching tenacity and inquiry and curiosity! This blissful planning was all well and good for about an hour, and then I started realizing I had to be up for work in a few hours and needed to get back to sleep. My brain wouldn’t quit though! I had to grab my bedsite notebook–usually reserved for my nightly Bible readings–and scribble all my ideas in the dark.

When I got to work yesterday morning, I e-mailed my superintendent contact to ask him about the computer job, and alas, his computer teacher is staying on another year. But he did say that he thought me teaching comptuers and journalism would be a great fit, and he would let me know should the job become available, before he even advertises!

Leave a Reply

