May 1, 2006

The Handmaid’s Tale

Posted in Uncategorized at 2:14 pm by mrsmauck

A haunting, beautiful tale of dystopian suppression! Freedom and individuality are dangerous and punishable by death in this hyper-religious, woman-hating world. Told in a stream-of-consciousness format that layers in flashbacks from normal life throughout. This juxtaposition forces you to appreciate your own freedoms. As I sat in a lawn chair in my backyard in a tank top and short shorts to work on my tan reading the last bit of this novel, I thanked God for my liberty to love whoever I want and be whoever I want. I’m stressed about becoming a teacher and having children, but I get to pursue my own career and raise my own children with the man I love!! Totally the kind of novel that can change you. And it has for lots of women. It’s number five on this list of novels that most changed women’s lives, with Elizabeth Bennett and Co. ranking number one, Scout’s coming-of-age summer coming in second, Rochester’s mystifying allure falling to third, the idea of all men being rapists meriting fourth, and the Rachel and Leah story pulling out the fifth spot. I haven’t read Jane Eyre, but I’ve read Wide Sargasso Sea and loved it (There can’t just be some madwoman in the attic! I never liked that idea.). And I haven’t read The Women’s Room. I would place Anne of Green Gables on my list. TKAM definitely changed me. What do you think? Have any of these novels changed your life?

1 Comment »

  1. Courtney said,

    I loved reading Wide Sargasso Sea after Jane Eyre, and I love many of those books on that list, but none of them do I feel like were life-changers. Having read that and the men’s list, I’m not sure that I really think of any of those books as life changers. And as I think, I can’t quickly come up with any works of fiction that have changed me… Odd that I am an English teacher. I will continue to ponder!


Leave a Reply

