May 9, 2006

Round and round and round I go…

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:27 am by mrsmauck

What is the deal with older people thinking that anyone under the age of 30 is instilled with the knowledge and ability to defrag a motherboard, manage mulitiple servers, and write HTML and CSS code like it’s English? So my superintendent friend, the one who I thought might have a computer teacher job for me, is trying to talk me into taking the Tech job at his district. What on earth?! You can’t just be talked into creating firewalls and wiping viruses! People get college degrees in areas like, oh, I don’t know…computer science?! What makes him think a Journalism major currently in grad school to get an M.Ed in Secondary English would know a thing about Instructional Technology? It must have something to do with the fact that my current title is Information Technology Coordinator… Totally misleading. I write press releases, edit and design newsletters and brochures, manage our website…really it’s Information and a leeetle bit of Technology. Don’t get me wrong, I want to be in a school really badly right now, almost as much to teach as to get away from 40 hours in front of a computer screen or in meetings about nonessential educational programs, but the idea of being a school district’s authority on technology makes me feel like I’m running from an angry mob…

Leave a Reply

