May 10, 2006

Did I earn my A’s?

Posted in Uncategorized at 9:03 pm by mrsmauck

I turned in my last paper for my Master’s classes Monday, and got my grade back today! That’s an A in World Lit and an A in Teaching Strategies, thank you very much! But did I earn them? (A moment of doubt shades my summertime glee…)

For all the discussion I have in my education classes about the importance of grading to communicate–using rubrics, defining assignment expectations clearly, giving ample feedback on big projects–I certainly feel as though I’ve just been assigned numeric or even a simple letter grade with very little accompanying feedback. I’ve had only one college prof who actually used a rubric to grade assignments, and the rest have stuck to the good old single score method. I would think education professors would lead the pack on accurate grading practice, as much as the wonks sit around and study education!

Leave a Reply

