June 16, 2006

Farenheit 451’s Seashells in today’s world

Posted in Uncategorized at 2:39 pm by mrsmauck

I’m about halfway through Farenheit 451. Guy’s wife Mildred constantly has “Seashells” in her ears when she’s not watching the walls–they remind me of something in today’s society. Anyone? (Just testing out my teacher voice.) I’ve gone back and forth on whether or not I want to get an iPod, and this book has convinced me I don’t need one. To me, an iPod builds on the idea that we need to be entertained constantly. Like Professor Faber said, we need lesiure time–not entertainment time–but time to reflect on the world and what we think about it. Don’t these cute little music machines also function–like Seashells–to whisk us away from our thoughts on a current of white noise? The question I think we have to ask of ourselves with any form of entertainment is, How much does it add to our lives, and how much does it take away from reality? I love the show LOST for its escapism, but also because it engages you in philosophical thought. I also love The Office just because it’s funny. We have to make sure we balance our entertainment with thought-provoking, critical, even subversive plots, so that we don’t escape reality altogether.

2 Comments »

  1. Anonymous said,

    Thx for the comment. G/L w/ yr career.

    Regards,
    Sybil (mex)

    http://nmlb.blogspot.com/

  2. Courtney said,

    What you say makes total sense- to me, as an adult- though it never did to me as a kid and doesn’t to kids now! The seashells from F451 always reminded me of a part from CS Lewis’ The Silver Chair- have you read it? I don’t remember precise details, but there’s a witch who has taken Prince Rillian captive and everynight she plays this instrument that drones him to sleep, “thrum, thrum, thrum.” Such things also dull our awareness and discernment.


Leave a Reply

