July 21, 2006

Headed to D.C.

Posted in Uncategorized at 4:38 pm by mrsmauck

I’m leaving tomorrow for a conference in Washington D.C. The information may or may not be useful for public educators, unlike Nani’s highly beneficial notes on her Teachers College Reading and Writing Project . I work for a federally grant-funded program for secondary students called GEAR UP (Gaining Early Awareness and Readiness for Undergraduate Programs), but the conferences we attend are put on by lobbyist group NCCEP, and the information is not always entirely salient to our situations, as each grant is entirely unique.

However, I fully intend to visit the Folger Shakespeare Library and as many Smithsonian museums as we have time for and can drag my seven-year-old little brother into.

Also, I find out this evening whether I passed my general education test and Journalism subject area test–why must they wait until Friday evening to tell us?! If I passed the tests, (Here’s my initial post about how the tests went, and the one that explains why I took the Journalism test.), then it’s time to hit it hard for the English test, which I will take in either September or November.

4 Comments »

  1. Nancy said,

    Hi, just a correction–the institute I attended this week was not NYCWP. It was The Teachers College Reading and Writing Project. The two groups are significantly different, politically and philosophically. I apologize if it wasn’t clear on my blog; I’ll fix that! Anyway, I’m glad you found it beneficial!

  2. Jack said,

    Nice clean look on your page! I like the redecorating job.

    Watch out for that word “wisdom” from the Bible. It doesn’t quite mean the same thing as the current connotation. πŸ˜‰

    Keep up the good work, and good luck on your upcoming tests. πŸ™‚

  3. Ms. H said,

    Holy COW!! How’re you going to tell us your scores are on the way….and then LEAVE without telling us what they are?!?!?! You gotta tell us! Come on…we’re dying here!!

  4. the reflective teacher said,

    So, howd’ja do?


Leave a Reply

