October 30, 2006

OSAT crunch time

Posted in teacher certification, testing at 2:23 pm by mrsmauck

Well, I’ve been reading “the classics” all summer, but now it’s crunch time. I take my English teacher certification test this weekend. If I pass, which I won’t find out until December (!!), it’s possible I could have a teaching job for the spring semester–then I’d have to make a decision about teaching while pregnant. If my pregnancy remains as smooth as it has so far, I really don’t see a problem with it. I was dog-tired and nauseous for about three weeks, but ever since, I feel great! Plus, I talked with this woman at my church who is a retired English teacher and college prof, and she did her first year of teaching while pregnant. She was sick every day and would literally have to eat salty crackers during class to keep from puking right there in front of the students. Of course, I don’t want to go through anything like that, but so far, I haven’t actually thrown up at all.

Anyway, I’ve got a lot of catching up to do on posting reactions and lesson plans for classics I’ve read: The Great Gatsby and The Crucible, and I’m currently reading The Red Badge of Courage, which has been a struggle, and Walden, which is a delight.

1 Comment »

  1. Courtney said,

    I just read (and taught!) Walden for the first time to my IB juniors- that was tough- I have never read anything so thoroughly as I read Walden!! My book is a rainbow of highlighters and pen colors, but it was so good!! So well crafted. Gatsby is up next, after we finish The Scarlet Letter- I don’t remember liking Gatsby in hs, myself…


Leave a Reply

