November 6, 2006

The worst is over…

Posted in teacher certification, testing at 10:18 pm by mrsmauck

Well, it’s over at least! That’s right, my much-anticipated test–the one that qualifies me for my dream job, that I’ve been reading books for since May, the one that costs $100…is OVER! Now, whether or not I passed my English OSAT, I’ll not know for another month…but if November goes by as quickly as October did, I’ll have my results in no time.

This was the most intense testing experience of my life! The GRE was harder, but this test seemed so much more important: If I can’t pass this test, I thought, I’m not qualified to do the only job I can see myself doing! It took me three and a half hours (the Journalism OSAT took me only an hour and a half!), and my hand was seriously cramped when I got out of there. It’s only 80 questions, but the majority of them were over a reading, from poems to Shakespeare to speeches to articles. Then came the essay question! That’s what cramped my hand up so much. I was so in the zone that I didn’t even look back over my answer sheet, which freaks me out a little. I just put down my pencil, got up, and handed my test in, all in a daze. Now I have to wait a month to see how I did!! However, I really think I passed, because I felt confident of my answers at least 75% of the time, and I’m sure my essay will get a really high score. Yay! I had a funny dream last night that I was taking the test again, but this time a bunch of people I knew from college were in there, and we were all hanging out and visiting, and having cokes, and I keep getting off on my answer sheet. In reality, you’re not allowed to speak to ANYONE during the test, you can’t have anything sitting on your desk, and you have to raise your hand to get a bathroom pass! Yikes!

In retrospect, I’m not sure how much good my studying did me. The test was quite different from what I expected: whereas I thought it would ask a lot of knowledge-based questions about literature genres, periods and authors’ works and writing styles, the questions were mostly much more skills-based.

We’ll see December 1!!

1 Comment »

  1. mex said,

    You go gurl!!!


Leave a Reply

