March 7, 2007

Pressing on

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:26 pm by mrsmauck

Well, I got my first teacher rejection letter yesterday. The interview at the nearby small school went well, but it went better for someone else. I’m not crushed though; the teacher who got the job has five years’ teaching experience, she graduated from the school where we interviewed, and her children go there. I probably would have hired her, too. I had actually been told about her beforehand, and I knew if she decided to apply, she would probably get it over me.

So I’m sniffing out new leads and sending out more application packets–including one to the school where this woman teaches now–there’s sure to be at least one opening there this fall!

2 Comments »

  1. the reflective teacher said,

    Aw, bummer. I know the feeling, though — It’s killing you on the inside while the outside is completely comfortable. But don’t worry, that person has 5 years experience, and that’s tough to match.

    I was going to say “you’ll find a place,” but the truth is “a place will find you.” You’ve got the skills and you’ll do well wherever you go; wherever you do end up will benefit.

    Please let us know how it goes. Best of luck on the next round!

  2. Miss B said,

    My grad school had a job fair today. So exhausting. But already one district told me – after a 15 (20?) minute interview – that he’d definitely like to have me in for a second interview, that I sounded very articulate, and that, hopefully, when I do get called back, I’ll be available to interview (i.e. if I don’t get snagged up elsewhere first).

    Sweet!


Leave a Reply

