April 2, 2007

Teacher Portfolio

Posted in job search at 5:08 pm by mrsmauck

So I’m attending my college’s Teacher Placement Day this week, and am putting together a Teacher Portfolio to try to get an edge on all the undergrads who will only be handing out resumes. Here’s what I plan to include:

  • Table of Contents
  • Resume (revamped to be two pages, with a professional bio at the top of what I’m like as a teacher, modeled after resumes found on Resumes for Teachers.) I’ve always been a firm supporter of the one-page resume, but I really think this one does a better job of selling me, spacing out the really important information for emphasis on the first page and providing mostly supplementary information on the second.
  • Cover letter (personalized for each district I plan to visit at the fair)
  • Statement of language arts education philosophy
  • Transcripts
  • Copy of teacher license, English subject area test scores
  • Letters of recommendations from professors, current supervisor
  • Sample unit plan and supplementary materials from unit I did over The Crucible for Methods

Comments? Too much stuff, or will this be a great seller?

Tips on writing a good philosophy statement for a portfolio? It’s one thing to write one for a class, but another to write one for potential employers. Mine’s two pages, and addresses the purpose of education and of language arts education, multiple learning styles, diversity, oral communication in the classroom, and classroom management.

2 Comments »

  1. Miss B said,

    I’m in the process of organizing mine, as well, and from all the information I’ve been given, sounds like you’re definitely on the right track.

    Lots of luck!

  2. CaliforniaTeacherGuy said,

    I’m sure your portfolio is impressive. However, it is possible to land a job without a portfolio. I know, because I’ve done it. To portfolio or not to portfolio–that is the question!


Leave a Reply

