May 2, 2007

Third pregnant interview!

Posted in job search at 9:05 pm by mrsmauck

That’s right, I had a job interview this morning, my DUE DATE! My mom was pretty freaked out for me: if my water broke in front of the principal, he’d probably be so mortified he’d never want to see me again, much less hire me! But it went really well actually. It was for the dream job opening I posted about a while back. However, I’ve since found out that the school could be restructuring its English teacher assignments, so it might not be quite as sweet a gig as I at first supposed. However, it’s still a good distance, a good size, and the principal seems very supportive of his teachers. He’s a former college administrator and journalism teacher, so with my experience in those fields, I felt like we were on the same page as far as high school English expectations and communication standards in general.

I also found a much smoother way to introduce my portfolio in the interview, I think. At my last one, I simply left it with the principal for him to peruse, with a brief overview of what it included. This time, I actually talked with the principal about the unit plan I included in it, and how I thought it exemplified my teaching style and high expectations of students. However, he handed it back to me, and I accepted. Doh! Maybe I’ll get the hang of this interview thang one of these days!

So I believe I should be hearing back from both these interviews in the next couple weeks, at the same time I’ll be bonding with my baby girl and battling sleep deprivation and maybe baby blues. Wish me luck in making a good decision!

1 Comment »

  1. CaliforniaTeacherGuy said,

    Has the baby arrived yet? Are you in your right mind? Made any decisions? Let us know!


Leave a Reply

