May 31, 2007

Job update

Posted in job search at 7:53 pm by mrsmauck

So I was getting all geared up for middle school–reading Nancie Atwell’s In the Middle and various middle-grade YA novels–and then I talked to my superintendent again today. I go in next week to sign my paperwork, get my textbooks, and check out my high school classroom. That’s right, they changed me to high school. I don’t know what happened, didn’t want to pry, but I’ll now be teaching grades 9-12 at this small high school. I’m pretty sure it’ll be all grades anyway, that’s what it was when I originally interviewed for the high school position back in February. But they hadn’t yet hired their new high school principal at that point, so who knows. I’ll get it all figured out next week, I suppose.

I’m not really sure what I think of this change: I had gotten myself all psyched up for middle school: convinced myself that age group was easier to motivate, but perhaps more difficult to manage, more likely to value grades and peer approval, but more difficult to predict. And middle-grade YA novels are some of my favorite reads to this day. Now I’m back on the track I have been on since last year, for high school. When I see my textbooks and such, maybe I’ll feel more focused.

4 Comments »

  1. Miss B said,

    Congrats on the new job – you’ll be great.

    I’m happy to have finally gotten my first interview – I was beginning to get (slightly) discouraged.

  2. Jack said,

    You thought middle school would be easier to teach! Sorry to sound cynical, but I’ve taught all but three grades in my twenty-year career, and I return to adolescents (17 out of 20 times) because (1) it’s the MOST DIFFICULT, most forgotten age group in the educational system, and (2) the one most “in need” of good teachers. Pat yourself on the back for trying.

    Someone said that there’s a special place in heaven for middle school teachers too. I hope it’s quiet there…. 😉

  3. X said,

    Ugh. I hate program changes and having to switch gears.

    When you find out more about the curriculum, let us know!

  4. Mr. Taylor said,

    Don’t give up on the reading/writing workshop approach even though you’ll be teaching high school.

    I’ve taught using a reading/writing workshop approach from grades 8 through 10 and it works well with these kids too.

    Traditional methods of teaching high school English are becoming increasingly calcified as the very notion of ‘literacy’ shifts in our society.

    And good luck.


Leave a Reply

