June 7, 2007

Introducing Mrs.Which’s classroom!

Posted in planning at 2:37 pm by mrsmauck


So I got my textbooks and copies of the classroom sets of novels I have. I’ve got Glencoe textbooks–anyone else using the same set–the Reader’s Choice? Classroom sets include: The Scarlet Letter, Kate Chopin’s The Awakening, Upton Sinclair’s The Jungle, Elie Wiesel’s Night, Ayn Rand’s Anthem and The Fountainhead, and Steinbeck’s Of Mice and Men.
Here are the big texts I’m tentatively planning so far.

Freshmen: Romeo and Juliet, Elie Wiesel’s Night, Poetry & Identity unit, The Odyssey

Sophomores: Ayn Rand’s Anthem, Sophocles’ Antigone, some Arthurian legend, Shakespeare’s Julius Caesar,

Juniors: Steinbeck’s Of Mice and Men, N. Scott Momaday’s The Way to Rainy Mountain, Aruthur Miller’s The Crucible

Seniors: Beowulf, Shakespeare’s Macbeth, The Canterbury Tales, Arthurian legend
My goal right now is to read the major works I’ve either never read or haven’t read in a long time so I don’t have to worry about that during the school year. I also need to talk to my principal to find out how much of a priority textbook coverage is, and which of the novels students have already read. I have to work for another month to cover mine and the baby’s insurance until the school picks it up in September, so I’ll have about three weeks off before school starts to do lesson plans. I want to have a rough sketch of the entire year planned for each class, and the first unit for each class planned in detail, UbD style. I’m going to be the yearbook/newspaper adviser as well, so I’ll need to get familiar with the software. It’s a little overwhelming to think about right now, as Claire takes up most of my waking hours, as well as some of my sleeping!

5 Comments »

  1. X said,

    Wow…that seems like such a heavy program. So many different things to do at once. High school is a totally different world than middle school. Puts things in perspective — I do not want to complain about my load now! I’ll stick with my 100 13-year-olds.

    Hey, do you know about the UbD wiki (http://ubdeducators.wikispaces.com/)? Also check out Dana’s recent writing on UbD (http://huffenglish.com/).

    I hope you are able to have some more time with your daughter and husband before school starts, too :).

  2. Redkudu said,

    I’ve been putting together a website for high school ELA teachers this summer. If you need some supplemental materials or ideas you might want to check it out at http://www.redeemingdaisy.com. I know I have resources up for Beowulf, The Crucible, Antigone, and Macbeth.

  3. Ms. H said,

    Congrats!!! That is SO exciting!

    When I was in Houston for the brother’s wedding, I spent a morning at the Holocaust Museum. It was incredible. You might check their website (in all your free time…ha!). They had an actual railcar on display. I have some pictures if you want me to send them to you. :0)

  4. Jennie said,

    Congratulations! One thing that helped me a lot, about midway through my first year, was teaching the same novel to half of my classes (I also had a range of grade levels). It gave me a “planning” break, and I set up a journal-system between the (in this case) 7th and 8th graders that got some really interesting responses. Of course, I had to choose the text carefully (to make sure I wouldn’t need it the next year and that they hadn’t already read it), but it was nice to have some extra time to design a really interesting unit and to give the chance for the kids to really collaborate on projects.

  5. CaliforniaTeacherGuy said,

    When is your first day of school? It must be drawing near. Enjoy!


Leave a comment