August 11, 2007

Long day at school

Posted in Uncategorized at 3:52 am by mrsmauck

How did I get to school at 9 a.m., leave at 2 p.m., and feel completely exhausted by the time I got home? Because I did a dry run today: seeing what time I needed to wake up to get me and little miss mauck out the door by 7:15 a.m. The good news? I did it, waking up at 5:50 a.m. to feed her (and I use the term waking very loosely here). The bad news? At New Teacher Orientation this morning, our superintendent informed us we need to be at school by 7:50, when I thought my arrival time needed to be no later than 8:15 a.m. That 25 minutes is precious. I need some adjustment to this 6.5 hours of sleep business. I’m used to sleeping as late as little miss will let me.

I made some progress on my classroom today: I covered my three bulletin boards: two in yellow swirly fabric and black borders (school colors!), and the long skinny one above my chalkboard (who uses a chalkboard, anyway?) with paper and these cool bookshelf-looking borders I found in my cabinets, which I thought were only crammed with useless old textbooks and endless amounts of supplemental stuff for my textbook. Covering the boards was the easy part: Now I’ve got to make posters, which is very hard to do for me, as my handwriting is horrendous, and my paper skills are a bit too flamboyant and messy to make good posters, although I can do a mean scrapbook page when I get the urge (Wonder when that urge will return so I can start little miss’ scrapbook?).

Sidenote: Who seriously has time to use all these resources? There’s an entire book of “lesson plans,” in which each page just lists abougt 50 resources for each text: Get these transparencies, these recordings, these CD-Rom interactives, etc., etc. I don’t know, it feels like “Teaching for Dummies.”

Okay, I need some input on read alouds: Does anyone use them at the high school level? I’ve been talking with the lovely Jennie over at Unabridged Opinions, and she does this often with her middle school students. I really want my students to only have to read their SSR novels at home, and save our whole-class texts for classroom reading and discussion. But I’m still worried that reading aloud will be monotonous and eat up all our class time. Any thoughts, suggestions, advice? Also, I really want to do Readers Theater with the plays that we read, like The Crucible, Shakespeare, etc.  How should I introduce this kind of reading to the kiddies? Should we read the text aloud first, and then stage scenes, or can we do cold readings as Readers Theater?

2 Comments »

  1. Bob Demers said,

    One of the best online sources of insight and information about Readers Theatre in all its dimensions can be found at http://www.readerstheatredigest.com The site is currently on hiatus while it is being re-constructed to include audio and visual content and interactive elements. However, the archive is still accessible and there are nearly ninety articles by RT practitioners of very ilk. Lucy Rioux’s articles relevant to RT in the classroom should be helpful.

    How do I know this? Guess!

    Bob Demers, Editor/publisher
    Readers Theatre Digest
    http://www.readerstheatredigest.com

  2. X said,

    I don’t have any HS experience, but reading aloud is so important for my middle school kids. I really should do it throughout the year, but I tend to concentrate it in the fall, when I read “racy” (i.e. fights, kissing, class/gender/race issues) stories to help jumpstart class discussions.


Leave a Reply

