October 22, 2007

Writing our own myths

Posted in lesson plans at 2:50 am by mrsmauck

I’ve had so few successes with my freshmen so far, but I think I can say that I had one for our end-of-nine-weeks project. After researching Greek mythology, learning the epic heroic cycle reading excerpts from The Odyssey, and watching O Brother, Where Art Thou, comparing and contrasting the two, we wrote our own myths. First, I modeled this by filling in the epic heroic cycle chart with my own story, and then I showed my myth on PowerPoint.

I enjoyed writing my myth so much, it made me think I’d like to turn this Pristina story into a children’s book. But as always, I have a great idea, and then all the little details come crashing over me, give me a scared feeling in my stomach, and I abandon all efforts in favor of everyday duties and pleasures.

 My students’ myths were SO good: the boys’ were invariably filled with gory battles, while the girls’ mostly ended with the main character getting married. Some were an amalgam of Disney movies and fairy tales, but others were completely original and genuinely entertaining to read. I hope it was a good writing experience for them. I tried to teach them to self-edit this time, which we’ll continue to work on throughout the year.

Leave a Reply

